Why do we do it….?

Design 2

When I first saw Simon Sinek’s TED talk about how great people and great companies always know why they do what they do I was blown away.  I felt like he just explained to me something that I knew to be true, but I did not know how to explain it.  Growing up I never really knew what I wanted to be.  I wanted to be some of the typical things like a veterinarian because I loved animals.  I never really felt like I discover my passion in school.  I knew though that I did not want to have a job that I lived for the weekend.  I did not want to go to work every day because I needed the money.  I wanted to go because I loved what I did.

Teaching ended up being something that I mistakenly discovered after college.  I took a year long job at a camp after college.  I ended up teaching outdoor education during my time there and I fell in love with teaching.  A lot of teachers say it’s a calling not a job.  I think for most teachers that is true.  I wanted to have the opportunity to make an impact on students lives because in my education growing up that didn’t really happen for me.  So here’s my Why, What, and How for my district.  I want us to focus on the WHY we do what we do.  That’s where people passions are.

References:

Start with why — how great leaders inspire action | Simon Sinek | TEDxPugetSound. (n.d.). Retrieved April 12, 2017, from https://youtu.be/u4ZoJKF_VuA

 

Leave a Reply

